What is the Yay.com Call Recording Add-on?
Call Recording

What is the Yay.com Call Recording Add-on?

The Call Recording Add On is an optional feature that can be added via your Yay dashboard to enable call recording on your account for an extended period. 

 

When enabled, you’ll be able to choose how long you’d like your call recordings to be retained: 1 year, 3 years, or 5 years, depending on your needs.

 

The premium plan already includes 1 year of call recording retention, so premium plan users can choose to upgrade to 3 or 5 years. 

 

When added, this applies to all calls recorded on the account until the add-on is removed. 

 



How does the Call Recording Add On work?

 

For example, say 1st January 2027, you add the 12 month call recording, that means that any call on 1st January 2027 would have the call recording saved and available to play and download in the dashboard until it is deleted on the 1st January 2028.

 

For any calls made on January 2nd 2027, the call recordings would be saved in the dashboard until January 2nd 2028, and so on. The effect is a rolling 12 month period of retention.

 

In this example, any calls recorded before the add-on was applied on 1st January 2026, would be subject to the default retention periods for the relevant plan.

 

 

Please note, the Call Recording Add On will not recover previous call recordings that have already been deleted from the Dashboard. It is used for future calls only.

 

 

What if I cancel the Call Recording Add On?

 

The recordings for any calls made after that point will only be available in the dashboard for the default length for the relevant plan (30 days for Core and Standard, 1 year for Premium).

 

Any calls that were made while the add-on was active will remain available to play and download in the dashboard for the full duration of the applied add-on.



 

What happens to call recordings if the account is closed? 

 

If at any point you decide to close the account during the retention period then these calls will no longer be available to play or download. If you would like to keep your recordings, you will need to manually download each recording one by one through the dashboard before the account closure.



If you need further help, please don't hesitate to contact our friendly Support Team on 0330 122 6000, or by emailing help@yay.com.







Did you find this helpful?

New to Cloud Telephony?
Join one of our free live webinars!
Join one of our twice weekly webinars for a guided tour of our business phone system and features.